Sunday, 22 July 2012

Crossbeam Systems Receives Common Criteria EAL4+ Certification for Its X-Series Security Platform

The X-Series Meets Stringent Security Requirements Established by Leading International Standard for Use in the Most Critical Infrastructures.

Crossbeam Systems, Inc., the provider of next-generation security platforms for high-performance networks, announced today that its X-Series Operating System (XOS 9.9) and X-Series X60 and X80-S security platforms have earned Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation certification at Evaluation Assurance Level 4 (EAL4+).

Common Criteria is an internationally recognised set of guidelines (ISO/IEC 15408) that provides a framework for evaluating security features and capabilities of IT security products. {{EAL4+ is the highest assurance level for conventional products, providing maximum confidence that security features are reliably implemented}}. Common Criteria is recognised globally by all signatories under the Common Criteria Recognition Agreement (CCRA). In order to facilitate the rigorous Common Criteria certification process, Crossbeam partnered with Corsec Security, Inc., an independent consulting firm with more than fourteen years of security validation experience.

“Common Criteria certification provides important validation that the X-Series has been independently tested and assured to work in the most stringent security environments,” said Chet Gapinski, vice president of product development at Crossbeam. “Global organisations are challenged to protect their most sensitive assets in a world that increasingly calls for the sharing of information – whether it’s for business collaboration or national security. Crossbeam is committed to providing customers with the third-party validation and product transparency they need to be able to intelligently address these challenges as part of a scalable, highly available and manageable security architecture.”

Common Criteria evaluation is critical for global enterprises and is frequently mandated for commercial information security products purchased by governments worldwide for use in its national security systems.

Crossbeam’s X-Series allows organisations to take advantage of security virtualisation to consolidate multiple security appliances and related network devices onto a single high-performance chassis. Customers deploy best-in-class security software applications from Crossbeam’s industry-leading ISV (independent security vendors) partners on the X-Series platform to achieve high-performance, high-availability security that easily scales to meet changing network and security demands, while reducing the cost and complexity of security management.

• For information on the X60 platform, visit:
• For information on the X80-S platform, visit:
• The X-Series Common Criteria certificate is available on the Crossbeam website at:
• For information on Crossbeam’s commitment to real-world security testing methodologies, read: Crossbeam and Spirent Partner to Define Real-World Security Test Methodology for Mobile Network Operators.

No comments:

Post a Comment